• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Picking hand anchor

#1 User is offline   FL6 

• Pip
  • Group: Members

Posted 08 May 2012 - 02:41 PM

Hi,

I'm new to shredding and am having trouble with one aspect of my picking.

It's most comfortable for me to rest my palm on the E and A strings as an anchor, so picking the the G,B and E strings is comfortable.
The problem is when I pick the D,A, and E strings I have no where else to anchor my hand so I have to twist my wrist a bit to get the pick to meet the strings and that makes it uncomfortable and the picking quality goes way down.

I'm emulating Paul Gilbert's picking hand style and I can't find any closeups of what part of the hand is resting on the bridge.

This also ties into how many shifts your picking hand should make as it goes through strings low to high, I'm guessing your picking hand doesn't stay in one spot, so how many places should it move?

I'm thinking the position of my picking hand is incorrect because I also experience discomfort picking with the strings muted.

Some really good close up photos from many angles I think would help.

I hope this makes sense.

Thanks.

#2 User is offline   Vercingetorix 

• Shred Messiah
  • Group: Administrators
  • Interests:Guitars, Martial Arts.

Posted 09 May 2012 - 05:56 AM

View PostFL6, on 08 May 2012 - 02:41 PM, said:

Hi,

I'm new to shredding and am having trouble with one aspect of my picking.

It's most comfortable for me to rest my palm on the E and A strings as an anchor, so picking the the G,B and E strings is comfortable.
The problem is when I pick the D,A, and E strings I have no where else to anchor my hand so I have to twist my wrist a bit to get the pick to meet the strings and that makes it uncomfortable and the picking quality goes way down.

I'm emulating Paul Gilbert's picking hand style and I can't find any closeups of what part of the hand is resting on the bridge.